Club Champions: Team Schaak

Evergreen CC Club Champions: Cory Fiendell, Jeff Tomlinson, Doug Schaak and Jim Smoltz

Congratulations to Team Schaak (Doug Schaak, Jeff Tomlinson, Jim Smoltz, Cory Fiendell) for winning Evergreen CC’s first Club Championship at its new home in Beaverton, OR!

Pool A ended in a three-way tie with Schaak tied with Teams Irvin (Bruce Irvin, Eric Hemesath, Michelle Stevens, Lily Irvin and Patton Echols) and Klinkhammer (Matt McVicar, Kris Klinkhammer, Scott Klinkhammer and Sarah Rosing) with identical 3-1 records.   The three teams completed an exciting “Team Draw to Button” tiebreaker Sunday morning with Teams Schaak and Irvin taking first and second places respectively.     In Pool B, Team Hill (Jason Hill, Eric Hanson, Steve Ellis and Brian Brokaw) took first place outright with a 4-0 pool record while Team Liske (Steve Liske, Art Placek, Matt Starr and Craig Webster) took second.

In the semi-finals, Doug Schaak threw a magnificent hit through a port in the first end to score 5 against Team Liske and never gave up the lead thereafter.    Meanwhile, in the other semi-final, Irvin slowly and steadily built up an insurmountable lead on Hill.

The final game between Schaak and Irvin was close until the fourth end when Doug Schaak’s hammer chipped away Irvin’s shot rock to score four.   The game continued for awhile, but Irvin could not recover, and the exhausted players (6 games in 2 days!) shook hands after 7 ends.

Watch videos of all the games on Ustream:

Many thanks to Art Placek for organizing the championship and to Peren Bjork for handling the ice, including a Championship Cut on Sunday.   This event was a fantastic way for Evergreen Curling Club to finish its great, first season on dedicated curling ice.

My favorite part of the weekend was seeing the great variety of teams and players mixed together  in pool play.     Next year we will look forward to having more leagues, more variety, more fun.   Can’t wait!